How Many Questions Is the Permit Test?
The answer depends on the jurisdiction and the test format. Use the sourced requirements below rather than assume that a practice-test length is the state examination length. Separate sign or road-rule conditions can matter even when a combined total looks sufficient.
This table has a row for each state and the District of Columbia. The retained dataset contains state facts; the DC row explicitly shows the missing record. “Not published” means the value is not established in the retained published evidence. It does not assert that an agency could never publish it elsewhere.
Percentages appear only when the agency states them. Section counts remain separate, historical formats are not presented as current, and qualifications stay beside the figures. Open the sources for the particular format and check current agency instructions before testing.
| Jurisdiction and format | Published questions | Passing requirement | Sources and qualifications |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Learner knowledge examination: Not published by Alabama Law Enforcement Agency | Learner knowledge examination: Not published by Alabama Law Enforcement Agency | Learner knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsCurrent ALEA eligibility page requires passing the written examination but gives no numeric length or passing threshold. No numeric format imported from commercial practice sites. Manual lists foreign-language examinations and an automated oral option; no distinct teen/adult question counts found.
|
| Alaska | General knowledge test: 20 | General knowledge test: 16 correct | General knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe practice-test introduction explicitly describes the actual test as 20 questions, 16 correct and 25 minutes. Four allowed mistakes is arithmetic from those counts; a separate passing percentage is not published in that source. Online testing offers multiple languages and audio, but the reviewed material did not enumerate the current languages. No separate adult count found. |
| Arizona | Office permit knowledge test: 30 Permit Test @ Home for applicants under 18: 30 | Office permit knowledge test: At least 80 percent. Permit Test @ Home for applicants under 18: At least 80 percent. | Office permit knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitations24 correct and six allowed mistakes are derived from 30 questions and the published 80% requirement. No in-office duration published in the reviewed operational page. Permit Test @ Home for applicants under 18 · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitations24 correct and six mistakes are derived. The brochure's 30-minute duration applies to at-home testing, not automatically to the office exam. Progressive scoring is mentioned, but it does not explicitly establish early termination.
|
| Arkansas | Class D instruction-permit knowledge test: Not published by Arkansas State Police | Class D instruction-permit knowledge test: Not published by Arkansas State Police | Class D instruction-permit knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe state exam page and current study guide were inspected; no exact question count, numerical passing score or test duration verified. Spanish and Vietnamese study guides are published, but translated manuals do not prove the current exam-language list.
|
| California | Under 18: Not published by California DMV 18+: Not published by California DMV | Under 18: 80% 18+: 80% | Under 18 · Retained facts checked 2026-10-12 Read sources and limitationsDMV publishes an 80% passing score but does not state the current question count on its learner-permit page. Our 46-question practice length follows the under-18 DL 5T format described on printed page 1 of the December 2006 report about 2005 tests; it is not a current exam-length claim. Practice requires 37 of 46 correct to reach the published 80% threshold. Current correct-answer and mistake counts, duration and early-stop policy remain unconfirmed. 18+ · Retained facts checked 2026-10-12 Read sources and limitationsDMV publishes an 80% passing score but does not state the current question count on its learner-permit page. Our 36-question practice length follows the adult original DL 5 format described on printed page 1 of the December 2006 report about 2005 tests; it is not a current exam-length claim. Practice requires 29 of 36 correct to reach the published 80% threshold. Renewal tests are outside this practice format. |
| Colorado | Driving knowledge test: Not published by Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles | Driving knowledge test: Not published by Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles | Driving knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsProduction knowledge-test pages returned access errors during research. No exact question count or passing threshold was verified from an accessible current operational source. The state's development-host copy describes a 60-minute home exam, twice-per-day limit and English/Spanish, but those values are withheld from operational fields pending confirmation on the production service. DR2324 states age 15 after approved classroom driver education; 15.5 with awareness course or 16 without those alternatives. Future 2027 requirements must not be applied in October 2026.
|
| Connecticut | Learner permit knowledge test: 25 | Learner permit knowledge test: 20 correct | Learner permit knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsThe agency publishes 25 questions and at least 20 correct. Five allowed mistakes is derived from those counts; a separate passing percentage is not published in the reviewed source. Same stated numerical test format for teen and adult applicants; no published duration or early-stop policy located. Hard-copy languages additionally listed: Amharic, Armenian, Bosnian, Simplified Chinese, Croatian, Dari, German, Greek, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Nepali, Pashto, Farsi, Brazilian Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Somali, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu.
|
| Delaware | Class D knowledge examination: Not published by Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles | Class D knowledge examination: Not published by Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles | Class D knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsUNRESOLVED: current FAQ states 30 questions and 24 correct; written-test page states actual Class D examination has 32 questions and 26 correct. Exact active format and derived mistakes are deliberately null. The handbook discusses signs/signals and road rules but does not resolve the conflicting counts. Sample-exam language choices do not establish the actual test-language list.
|
| District of Columbia | Not published by DC DMV in the retained data | Not published by DC DMV in the retained data | No reviewed DC record is present in this dataset. Check DC DMV knowledge-test information ↗. No DC practice or verified format is claimed. |
| Florida | Class E: 50 | Class E: 80% | Class E · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe county licensing authority confirms 50 questions and 40 correct. Ten errors is derived by subtraction. FLHSMV requires English for all license exams from February 6, 2026. A universal office-test time limit and early-stop policy were not confirmed; online-provider timing must not be generalized. |
| Georgia | Class C/CP knowledge exam: road rules and road signs: Road rules: 20; Road signs: 20 | Class C/CP knowledge exam: road rules and road signs: Road rules: 15 of 20 correct; Road signs: 15 of 20 correct | Class C/CP knowledge exam: road rules and road signs · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitations40 total, 30 minimum correct and ten maximum combined mistakes are derived from the two published 20/15 section rules. No separate passing percentage is published in the reviewed source. Do not use a total-only pass rule. Language list withheld pending resolution. Current testing page lists English, Albanian, Amharic, Arabic, Burmese, Chinese, Dari, Farsi, French, German, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Pashto, Brazilian Portuguese, Rohingya, Russian, Spanish, Swahili, Turkish, Urdu, Vietnamese, Wolof and Yoruba. Starting at least 30 minutes before office closure is an arrival cutoff, not a test-duration limit.
|
| Hawaii | Online Class 3 learner knowledge test: Not published by Hawaii Department of Transportation and county licensing divisions | Online Class 3 learner knowledge test: Not published by Hawaii Department of Transportation and county licensing divisions | Online Class 3 learner knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsCurrent HDOT page states 25 questions and one hour. A Honolulu brochure preserved in a 2025 packet states 30 questions. Count and derived correct/mistakes remain unresolved rather than asserting a universal statewide length. Current HAR PDF is image-only to the extraction tool. An earlier proposed rule and a secondary legal mirror state 80%, but the active primary text was not text-verified, so the passing field remains null. No early-termination policy verified.
|
| Idaho | Class D knowledge test: 40 | Class D knowledge test: 34 correct | Class D knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsManual publishes 40 questions and up to six misses. 34 correct is derived from those counts; a separate passing percentage is not published in the reviewed source. Age 15 is the knowledge-exam minimum in the retrieved handbook; driver-training permits can begin earlier at 14.5. The currently linked 2026/04 manual failed to load. The accessible 2025/10 handbook confirms these counts; treat current-edition confirmation as pending. No explicit early-stop instruction found; 'before failing' wording alone is not proof that the screen terminates immediately.
|
| Illinois | Class D written knowledge test: Not published by Illinois Secretary of State | Class D written knowledge test: At least 80 percent. | Class D written knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsExact questions/correct/mistakes deliberately null because a minimum length is not an exact length. At the statutory minimum of 35, 28 correct would be required; that conditional calculation is not an operational count. No distinct adult versus teen numeric format found.
|
| Indiana | Learner permit knowledge examination: Not published by Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles | Learner permit knowledge examination: 80 percent in each component. | Learner permit knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsCurrent operational page and current manual publish 80% for each component but no exact section counts were verified. Older manual describes 16 signs plus 34 rules and at most two/six misses. Those historical counts are not substituted for current policy. Thirty minutes before closing is an arrival cutoff, not an exam timer. ASL assistance is available by arrangement.
|
| Iowa | Operator knowledge test: 25 | Operator knowledge test: 20 correct | Operator knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsAgency testing table explicitly separates Iowa operator test: 25 questions, five allowed misses. 20 correct is derived from those counts; no separate passing percentage is published. The source's CDL context is disclosed. Home Skip the Trip eligibility can begin within 30 days of the 14th birthday for those under18, but permit issuance minimum remains14. Current rule allows retesting at examiner discretion. Historical one-business-day language was not carried forward into the current 2025 chapter. |
| Kansas | Class C knowledge test: 25 | Class C knowledge test: 80 percent. | Class C knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe handbook explicitly says the knowledge exam is NOT TIMED. timeLimitMinutes=null here means untimed, not a missing assumed 20-minute duration. 25 questions and80% published;20correct/fivemisses derived. Its15–20minutes is a typical completion estimate, not a limit. No distinct adult count or explicit early-termination policy found.
|
| Kentucky | Operator permit written test: Not published by Kentucky State Police and Kentucky Transportation Cabinet | Operator permit written test: At least80percent. | Operator permit written test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsCurrent GDL page states80% but no exact40-question format was verified in the inspected page/manual. Questions,correct andmistakes remainnull. Language lists conflict:KSPpage lists12 standard-operator languages; KYTCmanual listsmore. Current complete list withheld rather than merging incompatible lists. CurrentGDLretake guidance is nextavailableday, not an invented fixed7-day wait.
|
| Louisiana | Class E knowledge test: Not published by Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles | Class E knowledge test: At least80percent. | Class E knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsCurrent operational page/manual confirm80%, not an exactquestioncount. An older adult sheet says40questions; it is retained as historical evidence, not asserted as current. The full current guide islinked by OMV's DriverManuals page anddatedR08/25. A Temporary Instructional Permit needed before testing/training is distinct from the age15learnerpermit. No numeric retakewait/durationverified.
|
| Maine | Class C knowledge examination: 30 | Class C knowledge examination: 24 correct | Class C knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsSix allowed mistakes is arithmetic from the published 24-of-30 requirement. A separate passing percentage is not published in the reviewed source. The source says eight languages but enumerates nine, including Canadian French and French separately; preserve the listed names and flag the contradiction. No age-specific question-count variant, timer, or score-based early stop was verified. |
| Maryland | Noncommercial Class C knowledge test: 25 | Noncommercial Class C knowledge test: 88% or higher | Noncommercial Class C knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitations22 correct and three mistakes are derived from 25 questions and an 88% minimum. Do not substitute the 20-question Class A/B format or the 80% commercial threshold. No separate teen/adult score or score-based early-stop rule was found. |
| Massachusetts | Passenger Class D learner's permit exam: 25 | Passenger Class D learner's permit exam: 18 correct | Passenger Class D learner's permit exam · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsSeven allowed mistakes is derived from the published 18-of-25 requirement. A separate passing percentage is not published in the reviewed source. The agency overview reports 35 available languages, but an authoritative complete list was not verified; languages remains null. No published score-based early-stop rule was verified. Application page facts were accessible in the agency search index; direct retrieval returned 403. |
| Michigan | Adult operator and signs knowledge examination (18+): Not published by Michigan Department of State Teen Segment 1 driver-education knowledge examination: Not published by Michigan Department of State | Adult operator and signs knowledge examination (18+): Not published by Michigan Department of State Teen Segment 1 driver-education knowledge examination: 70% or higher | Adult operator and signs knowledge examination (18+) · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsThe agency describes approximately 45 minutes for Operator and 15 minutes for Signs; these are not published hard time limits. Online and office versions are described as the same examination. The reviewed adult page does not publish section counts or passing percentages; do not assume the frequently repeated 50/40 configuration. English and other written/audio languages are mentioned, but no complete list was verified. Teen Segment 1 driver-education knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsAge range means Segment 1 enrollment from 14 years 8 months until the eighteenth birthday, not permit issuance. Level 1 learner licensing begins at 14 years 9 months. Do not apply the Segment 1 threshold to the adult operator exam. The page also describes a distinct Segment 2 examination. |
| Minnesota | Class D knowledge test: Not published by Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services | Class D knowledge test: 80 percent | Class D knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsThe current manual confirms 80%, but a current question count was not verified. A 2021 legislative audit describes 40 questions; it is historical evidence, not confirmation of today's exam length. The current manual confirms English, other languages, ASL, and audio options without an exhaustive language list.
|
| Mississippi | Regular Class R learner knowledge examination: Not published by Mississippi Department of Public Safety, Driver Service Bureau | Regular Class R learner knowledge examination: Not published by Mississippi Department of Public Safety, Driver Service Bureau | Regular Class R learner knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsRegular passenger licensing is Class R; Mississippi Class D material must not be confused with the ordinary car exam. The current permit page and linked manual did not provide a verified question count, passing percentage, duration, or complete translation list. Knowledge testing is in person; the manual describes computerized testing and headset assistance.
|
| Missouri | Class F written knowledge test: 25 | Class F written knowledge test: 80% | Class F written knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsFive allowed written-test mistakes is derived from the published 20-of-25 passing score. The current modernization page reports twenty Class F test languages including ASL; a full current list was not verified. No duration, age-specific score variant, or score-triggered early end was verified.
|
| Montana | Noncommercial Class D knowledge test: Not published by Montana Motor Vehicle Division | Noncommercial Class D knowledge test: Not published by Montana Motor Vehicle Division | Noncommercial Class D knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe reviewed current agency pages and linked manual did not verify exam length, score, duration, language list, or early termination. Do not populate 33 questions, 27 correct, or an 82% score merely from competitor descriptions.
|
| Nebraska | Class O written knowledge test: Not published by Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles | Class O written knowledge test: Not published by Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles | Class O written knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsCurrent driver manual confirms the written-test requirement but does not specify the question count or score in its test section. An older agency examiner manual describes Class O as 25 questions with five errors allowed, a 24-item nonverbal version, and 80% generally. These have not been re-confirmed on a current operational page, so operational score fields remain null. An agency announcement confirms an ASL Class O option; current complete languages were not established.
|
| Nevada | Class C knowledge test at a DMV office: 25 Class C online knowledge test: 25 | Class C knowledge test at a DMV office: 80% Class C online knowledge test: 80% | Class C knowledge test at a DMV office · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsIn-person testing explicitly has no time limit; null represents unlimited here, not a hidden timer. Five allowed mistakes is derived from 20 correct out of 25. Teen and adult pages publish the same score. Current pages do not publish the older claimed stop-at-20-correct/6-wrong behavior. Class C online knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsOnline testing differs from the in-person format by having a sixty-minute time limit. Five allowed mistakes is derived from the published 20-of-25 threshold. |
| New Hampshire | Operator knowledge examination: Not published by New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles | Operator knowledge examination: 80% of answers correct | Operator knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsSaf-C 1005.01 permits up to fifty questions depending on license class; 1005.02 permits up to sixty minutes depending on class. These are not evidence of the specific standard-car question count or timer. Current DMV testing-page retrieval failed; 40 questions, 32 correct, 40 minutes, and automatic failure after nine errors were not independently confirmed. Do not call the car exam a learner-permit prerequisite: New Hampshire allows supervised learning under a statutory exception without a passenger-car learner permit. |
| New Jersey | Basic automobile knowledge test: 50 | Basic automobile knowledge test: 80% | Basic automobile knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsTen allowed mistakes is derived from the published 40-of-50 requirement. The current page separately offers oral English/Spanish and interpretation assistance, including ASL. A two-part 80%-per-part rule appears in secondary legal text for N.J.A.C. 13:21-8.6, but the regulation was not retrievable; no sectional quota is asserted pending primary verification. |
| New Mexico | Class D written knowledge examination: Not published by New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division | Class D written knowledge examination: 70% or better | Class D written knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe currently posted procedure section is dated December 8, 2017; it confirms 70% for Class D/M and the eight named languages. It does not specify the question count. Do not turn a 70% statement into an unsupported 18/25 format. No score-based early end or duration was verified.
|
| New York | Class D / DJ: 20 overall; Road signs: 4 | Class D / DJ: 14 of 20 correct overall; Road signs: 2 of 4 correct | Class D / DJ · Retained facts checked 2026-10-12
Read sources and limitationsThe manual confirms 14 of 20 plus two of four signs; it does not publish a separate passing percentage. Six total errors is arithmetic from 20 minus 14, and does not replace the sign-section requirement. Class D exams are available in multiple languages; a complete current list and time limit were not confirmed. School OKTA English/Spanish availability is not a statewide language list.
|
| North Carolina | Regular Class C knowledge and road-sign examinations: Not published by North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles | Regular Class C knowledge and road-sign examinations: Not published by North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles | Regular Class C knowledge and road-sign examinations · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsOperational DMV page does not state the question count, passing percentage, timer, or complete language list. Proposed/readoption rule copies describe 80% knowledge and 9/12 signs, but the current codified OAH endpoint could not be retrieved; those values are deliberately not promoted to verified current fields. Oral knowledge testing may be requested. No separate teen/adult question-count variant was verified. |
| North Dakota | Noncommercial Class D knowledge test: Not published by North Dakota Department of Transportation | Noncommercial Class D knowledge test: Not published by North Dakota Department of Transportation | Noncommercial Class D knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsThe reviewed current permit page and manual do not verify total questions, pass score, duration, or score-based early termination. ASL and audio are available at the eight named offices in the manual; this does not establish availability at every site.
|
| Ohio | TIPIC knowledge examination: Motor vehicle laws and rules of the road: 20; Highway warnings and traffic signs: 20 | TIPIC knowledge examination: Motor vehicle laws and rules of the road: 15 of 20 correct; Highway warnings and traffic signs: 15 of 20 correct | TIPIC knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsBMV publishes forty questions and 75%. The rule requires at least twenty in each of two parts and 75% separately; twenty per part follows from combining those sources. Thirty total correct and ten total allowed mistakes are derived and conditional: no more than five errors in either section. No timer or score-triggered early termination was verified. A 2024 driver-training curriculum lists eight languages, but current operational completeness was not verified; languages remains null. |
| Oklahoma | Online Class D knowledge test: 20 In-person Class D knowledge test: 20 | Online Class D knowledge test: 15 correct In-person Class D knowledge test: Not published by Service Oklahoma | Online Class D knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsFive mistakes is derived from 20 minus 15; 75% is arithmetic, not a published percentage statement on this page. Both teens and adults may test online. Exam eligibility is age 14, or 13.5 when living or working on a farm; exam eligibility is not permit eligibility. Under-18 applicants need an adult for identity verification. In-person Class D knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe learner-permit page publishes 20 questions. The 15/20 passing statement and 60-minute limit appear specifically in the online-test FAQ; they are not silently extended to the in-person variant. Exam eligibility includes the 13.5-year farm exception. |
| Oregon | Class C knowledge test: 35 | Class C knowledge test: 28 correct | Class C knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsSeven mistakes is derived from 35 minus 28. The reviewed testing page states counts, not a numeric passing percentage. Online tests for applicants under 18 require a proctor aged 21 or older; no different teen/adult question count is published.
|
| Pennsylvania | Learner knowledge test: 18 | Learner knowledge test: 15 correct | Learner knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThree mistakes is derived from 18 minus 15; no numeric passing percentage is asserted. Listed languages are available in written and audio formats on request. No age-dependent format was published in the reviewed source.
|
| Rhode Island | Operator knowledge exam: 40 | Operator knowledge exam: Not published by Rhode Island DMV | Operator knowledge exam · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe currently linked manual, printed page 10, specifies 40 multiple-choice questions and a 90-minute maximum. It did not provide a verified passing threshold in the reviewed exam section. Other languages may be arranged in printed form by appointment; the operational page does not enumerate them. Under-18 applicants need approved driver education; CCRI students can test through CCRI. Adults and eligible non-CCRI students test at DMV. No different count is published.
|
| South Carolina | Class D beginner permit knowledge test: Not published by SCDMV | Class D beginner permit knowledge test: Not published by SCDMV | Class D beginner permit knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsCurrent agency pages and the linked noncommercial manual confirm a knowledge examination but did not yield a verified question count, passing threshold, language list or published duration. Manual testing rules prohibit reference materials, electronic devices, talking and leaving the test room. No separate scored sign-section rule was located.
|
| South Dakota | Noncommercial knowledge test: Not published by South Dakota DPS | Noncommercial knowledge test: A score of 80% or higher is required. | Noncommercial knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe current test page and linked manual publish the percentage but do not provide a verified total question count; correct-to-pass and mistakes therefore remain null. Do not infer 25 questions/20 correct from third-party practice-test formats.
|
| Tennessee | Ages 15-17: online knowledge test: 30 In-person knowledge test (teens and adults): Not published by Tennessee Driver Services | Ages 15-17: online knowledge test: A minimum score of 80% is required. In-person knowledge test (teens and adults): Not published by Tennessee Driver Services | Ages 15-17: online knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitations24 correct and six mistakes are derived from the published 30 questions and 80% threshold. Parent/legal-guardian proctoring is required. Mid-test authentication is required at 30 minutes if still testing. Navigating away from the testing window or failing required authentication causes automatic failure; this does not establish answer-based early termination. In-person knowledge test (teens and adults) · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsCurrent manual printed pages 21-22 describes in-person testing and retakes but does not publish a verified total count, passing score or time limit. The online-teen figures are not automatically extended to this variant. Oral accommodations are available at selected offices; under-18 applicants requesting oral testing need supporting documentation. The manual permits an unannotated translation dictionary but not an interpreter for routine testing.
|
| Texas | Class C: Not published by Texas DPS | Class C: 70% | Class C · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsDPS confirms at least 70% to pass. No exact Class C question count was confirmed. The site's 30-question practice length must not be presented as a verified DPS test length. No current time limit, complete language list or early-stop policy was confirmed.
|
| Utah | First-time driver knowledge test: 50 | First-time driver knowledge test: At least 80% is required to pass. | First-time driver knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitations40 correct and ten mistakes are derived from 50 questions and the published 80% threshold. The handbook explicitly says the test is not timed. Its 30-45 minute typical duration is not a time limit. New drivers of all ages take the 50-question closed-book version. The 25-question open-book version is for previously licensed applicants, not the adult-first-time learner exam. Preferred-language eligibility and division-approved interpreters are described by DLD; its list labels Ukrainian as 'Ukraine'.
|
| Vermont | Online learner permit knowledge exam: 20 | Online learner permit knowledge exam: 16 correct | Online learner permit knowledge exam · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe manual states 20 questions with four answer choices and at least 16 correct. Four mistakes is derived; 80% is arithmetic rather than a separately verified published percentage. Current permit page specifies online testing. A translated manual is not treated as proof of the test's available languages.
|
| Virginia | Two-part knowledge exam: Part one: road signs: 10; Part two: general knowledge: 30 | Two-part knowledge exam: Part one: road signs: 10 of 10 correct; Part two: general knowledge: 24 of 30 correct | Two-part knowledge exam · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitations40 total questions, 34 minimum total correct and six permissible general-section errors are derived from the two published section counts. Do not describe this as an unconditional 85% passing score. No distinct teen/adult question count is published; retake rules differ by age. |
| Washington | Knowledge test: 40 | Knowledge test: 32 correct | Knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsEight mistakes is derived from 40 minus 32; the reviewed test page gives counts rather than a numeric passing percentage. Availability of a particular language must be confirmed with the testing location. Age 15.5 applies to obtaining a permit by taking the knowledge exam without an approved driver-training course; students in driver training may qualify for a permit at 15 without that exam.
|
| West Virginia | Knowledge examination: At least 25 | Knowledge examination: 19 correct | Knowledge examination · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe current linked handbook, printed page 24, says 'at least 25' questions, then specifies 19 of 25 correct. Preserve the minimum qualifier rather than claiming an unconditional exact total. Six mistakes is derived for the stated 25-question format. The arithmetic 76% is not an independently published passing-percent statement. A time limit exists, and unanswered questions at timeout count as incorrect; the handbook does not state the number of minutes. An audio version is available for reading-impaired applicants. No verified list of test languages was found. The same knowledge section serves teen GDL and adult instruction permits; no differing age-based count was published.
|
| Wisconsin | Ages 15-17: online knowledge test: 50 In-person knowledge test (teens and adults): 50 | Ages 15-17: online knowledge test: 80% is required on both the knowledge test and the separate highway-signs test. In-person knowledge test (teens and adults): 80% is required on both the knowledge test and the separate highway-signs test. | Ages 15-17: online knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsTen mistakes is derived for the 50-question knowledge test; the separate signs test allows three mistakes, derived from 15 minus 12. The agency's approximately 45-minute estimate is not a published maximum duration.
In-person knowledge test (teens and adults) · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10
Read sources and limitationsTen mistakes is derived for the 50-question knowledge test; the separate signs test allows three mistakes, derived from 15 minus 12. The agency's approximately 45-minute estimate is not a published maximum duration.
|
| Wyoming | Class C knowledge test: Not published by WYDOT Driver Services | Class C knowledge test: Not published by WYDOT Driver Services | Class C knowledge test · Retained facts checked 2026-10-10 Read sources and limitationsThe testing page confirms English testing; noncommercial applicants may use an interpreter, and an oral/audio option is available. No question count, correct-answer threshold, numeric pass percentage or published duration was verified from the reviewed current sources. The current agency manual page still links a 2021 Class C handbook and cautions that manuals may not contain the most current information; do not promote assumed 25/20/80% values.
|
Use the format to plan your study
Choose your state, read its handbook and review the subjects you find difficult. A short practice set is useful for learning, while a longer mixed set can reveal gaps across topics. Neither length predicts the exact questions you will receive. For a personal application, accommodation or testing-method question, use the agency’s current instructions.
Choose your state’s existing practice →